Kooyong Milestones : A Timeline

  • 1892

    Foundation of the Lawn Tennis Association of Victoria (LTAV) to take over from the MCC the administration of tennis in Victoria, especially the Pennant Tennis Competition. No courts or membership facilities. MCC still ran major tournaments e.g. Australian/Victorian Championships in 1905.

  • 1907

    Leading Melbourne tennis player Norman Brookes wins Wimbledon Singles Championship (first "foreigner" ever) and Davis Cup with Anthony Wilding (NZ).

  • 1908

    LTAV leases area along north side of Albert Ground to provide facilities for admission of 322 members and to host Davis Cup .Eight grass courts laid down, pavilion built and stands erected. Brookes appointed to LTAV organizing committee. Australia retains Cup defeating USA 3-2.

  • 1912

    After successful defences of the Cup in Sydney and Christchurch LTAV hosts Davis Cup for second time at the Albert Ground.. Britain defeats Australia 3-2 (NB: Photo of this Challenge Round in Archives Room).

  • 1919

    Growing popularity of the game (Brookes and Wilding won back Cup in 1914) leads to decision to purchase 17 acres of freehold land at Kooyong for $6160.

  • 1922

    20 Grass courts opened for play plus 8 asphalt.

  • 1923

    First Clubhouse opened in June.

  • 1927

    First horseshoe shaped seating level of concrete stadium completed to host Australian Championships won by Gerald Patterson in longest final singles match ever played at Kooyong.

  • 1934

    Northern section of stand, raised with construction of upper seating level. Massive flood of Kooyong in December disrupting the Victorian Championships.

  • 1935

    (Jan) Jack Crawford defeats Fred Perry, Wimbledon Champion, at Kooyong in final of Australian Championships. Roderick Menzel (Czech) criticizes Kooyong "cow paddock".

  • 1937

    Donald Budge wins Victorian Championships at Kooyong prior to winning first leg of Grand Slam in Adelaide. (Photo in foyer)

  • 1946

    Kooyong hosts its first Davis Cup won 5-0 by Americans Kramer & Schroeder.

  • 1953

    In preparation for Davis Cup: • Clubhouse altered for first time since 1923 by glassing in the verandah • Southern section of stand raised with construction of upper level. Massive temporary Cyclone stands erected to increase capacity to 15,000. Hoad & Rosewall retain Cup 3-2 in memorable win over Seixas & Trabert. Hopman towel throwing incident.

  • 1957

    Western section of stand filled in to complete upper level of "horseshoe" in readiness for hosting successful defence of Davis Cup.

  • 1961/66

    Kooyong hosts Davis Cup Challenge Rounds against Italy and India.

  • 1972

    Kooyong becomes the permanent home of the Australian Championships (until move to Flinders Park in 1988) incorporating the Victorian Championships.

  • 1975

    John Newcombe defeats Jimmy Connors to win Australian title in match beamed round world by satellite.

  • 1980

    LTAV relinquishes administration of Victorian tennis to Victorian Tennis Association.

  • 1983

    Kooyong hosts successful defence of Davis Cup against Sweden.

  • 1986

    Davis Cup Challenge Round at Kooyong. Pat Cash wins memorable match against Mikael Pernfors to clinch win on third day.

  • 1987

    Last Australian Championships at Kooyong won by Stefan Edberg and Hanna Mandlikova.

  • 1988

    First Colonial Classic tournament held at Kooyong as prelude to Australian Championships (won by Pat Cash)

  • 1989

    Kooyong changes its name from LTAV to Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club as a condition of affiliating with the Victorian Tennis Association.

  • 1992

    Extensions to Clubhouse.

  • 2000

    Completion of major extensions to Clubhouse including swimming pool, gymnasium and additional function rooms.

  • 2005

    Kooyong site flooded after record day of rainfall raises neighbouring creek above height of levee bank.

  • 2006

    Kooyong hosts Davis Cup Challenge Round. Australia defeats Belarus 5-0.

  • 2009

    Major extensions to Clubhouse.

  • 2016

    Kooyong hosts Davis Cup Challenge Round on temporary grass. USA defeats Australia 3-1.

  • 2017

    Kooyong hosts Davis Cup Challenge Round on Plexicushion. Australia defeats Czech Republic 4-1.

Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club Inc . 489 Glenferrie Road . Kooyong . VIC 3144

Phone   (03) 9822 3333


Thank You For Visiting

Site By Engage
cartier love bracelet replica,cartier love bracelet replica,cartier love bracelet replica,hermes bracelet replica,cartier love bracelet replica,cheap nike roshe run,replica christian louboutin,cheap moncler jacekts,cartier love bracelet replica,christian louboutin replica